Premier announces 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize recipients

Media Release 01 December 2023
  • Media release
  • ANZACspirit
  • History & commemoration

Media Release - Premier of Queensland and Minister for Education

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk has today announced the eight recipients of the 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize.

Recognising the efforts and dedication of young Queenslanders, eight students and two teacher chaperones from across the state will head to Europe next year, visiting WW1 and WW2 sites and attending the Anzac Dawn service at the Australian War Memorial in France.

An opportunity to gain an in-depth understanding of the Anzac legacy, the prize includes workshops in the months leading up to the once-in-a-lifetime adventure in collaboration with the State Library of Queensland. 

One hundred and thirty-six students have been awarded the prize since it began in 2013.

“It’s important that we pass on to young Australians the story of how veterans contributed to making Australia what it is today.” RSL Queensland State President Major General Stephen Day DSC AM

The 2024 Premier’s Anzac Prize is sponsored by RSL Queensland and is partnered with the State Library of Queensland.


Read Full Media Statement