ANZAC Prize 2020

Queenslanders honoured in ANZAC of the Year Awards

RSL Queensland 27 April 2020

Two Queenslanders are among the five national recipients of the 2020 RSL ANZAC of the Year Awards.

RSL Queensland extends its congratulations to two dedicated Queenslanders who are among five national recipients of the 2020 RSL ANZAC of the Year Awards.

Donald Davey of Kingaroy and Michael Goodwin OAM of Mackay were honoured for their efforts and achievements to “give service to their fellow Australians and to the community in a positive, selfless and compassionate manner”.

Mr Davey is a former RSL Wide Bay-Burnett District President and has served as President of the Kingaroy-Memerambi RSL Sub Branch since 2009.

He was recognised for his innovative leadership, compassion and devotion to the support of veterans and the wider Kingaroy community.

Mr Davey is a driving force behind the Kingaroy-Memerambi Sub Branch Veteran’s Drop-In Centre and has devoted himself to keeping the ANZAC spirit alive through commemorative events and community services and programs.

Mr Goodwin was honoured for his dedicated leadership of Mackay North State High School’s Lest We Forget Project since 1998.

A teacher at the school, Mr Goodwin founded the initiative to encourage school students to preserve the memory of those who served and sacrificed their lives for this countryand as a way of educating students about Australia’s war history.

Across the Lest We Forget Project’s 22-year history, more than 850 service personnel have been honoured by students taking part in 10 biennial Commemorative Tours where they have visited 180 cemeteries and battlefields in five countries. 

RSL Queensland State President Tony Ferris commended Mr Davey and Mr Goodwin on receiving a 2020 RSL ANZAC of the Year Award.

“Bothare highly deserving of this honour which is testament to the influential and inspirational positions they occupy not just within their own communities but across the nation,” Mr Ferris said.

“They exemplify the ANZAC spirit and are committed to applying its qualities of ingenuity, endurance, courage, mateship and good humour to everything they do.”

Mr Ferris also paid tribute to the other award recipients: Geoffrey Tattersall of South Australia, Victoria’s Karen Christensen and David Scott from Western Australia.

  • Media release